ICAI is led by a chief commissioner, Dr Alison Evans, and two part-time commissioners, Tina Fahm, and Richard Gledhill. The commissioners were appointed after a competitive process overseen by the Office of the Commissioner for Public appointments. They are in post for a four year term beginning 1 July 2015, and since 1 January 2018 the chief commissioner role has been a full-time post.

Dr Tamsyn Barton will become ICAI’s chief commissioner from January 2019. Dr Barton has 25 years’ experience working in international development, delivering and overseeing a wide variety of programmes including those run by UK government, small NGOs and International Financial Institutions.

Dr Barton’s induction will begin in November 2018 when she will be working at ICAI in a part-time capacity.

All commissioners abide by the Seven Principles of Public Life and complete a code of conduct return annually.


Dr Alison Evans

Chief Commissioner

Tina Fahm


Richard Gledhill